If you have an active Utah criminal warrant for your arrest, you should call the Ogden/Salt Lake/Orem/Provo criminal defense attorney Jake Gunter (801) 373-6345.

Provo, UT criminal defense attorney Jake Gunter Here is how our Utah criminal defense attorneys can help you with your active Utah criminal warrants:

(1). Check Utah Statewide Warrants Search.

The first place to go to find out if you have an active Utah criminal arrest warrant is online at: Utah Statewide Warrants Search. Just Google it and input your information.

This free Utah criminal warrant database is frequently updated by the State government of Utah. You can gather the details of who issued the warrant and when. Your next step is to hire a Utah criminal defense law firm to call the court and find out more of the legal details to keep you out of jail while the warrant is active.

(2). Hire a Salt Lake/Provo Criminal Defense Attorney.

If you have an active Utah criminal warrant for your arrest, the next step is to hire a Utah criminal defense lawyer. Your criminal defense lawyer of choice should immediately call the court and inquire with the court clerk about the details of your criminal arrest warrant. The court clerk will have the date the warrant was issued, the amount of bail, surety or bond that is required by the court to lift the warrant.

Your Utah criminal defense counsel can then use Utah’s Xchange program to look up the details of the criminal court docket to see how they can help you.

(3).  Obtain Pretrial Release–Obtain Bail.

 Sometimes when you are charged with lesser offenses, usually Misdemeanors, you can be cited and released without being booked into jail formally.   These are generally traffic offenses of Class B Misdemeanors or below.   When you are cited and released, you must contact the specific court on the citation within 14 days and schedule a court appearance. Failure to contact the court can generate a warrant for your arrest.

Other times you will be formally booked into jail. Being formally booked into jail happens on Utah DUIs, domestic violence and most Class A Misdemeanors and Utah Felonies. Depending on the charged offense you can be “booked and released” immediately after booked into the jail.

On Utah Felonies you will most likely be held at the county jail until a bail hearing can be conducted, usually within 72 hours depending the court’s schedule. You can see what charges are filed against you often by Googling the county jail where you lodged. Utah County, Salt Lake and Davis County all have online inmate lookup where you can see what you were being held for and active cases.

The bail commissioner has three options:

(1). Deny Bail.

(2). Allow/Set Bail.

(3). Release of Personal Recognizance. Personal recognizance means the criminal pretrial release of a defendant from custody by a judge without requiring any money or securities to ensure the defendant shows up for court in the future. The criminal defendant basically promises to show up in court in the future.

There are three different types of Utah bail:

(1). Property Bail.   Essentially, the defendant or a third party offers up a piece of real property or personal property that has enough value to ensure the defendant will show up to court in the future. This could be a piece of land, or expensive, fully paid off cars.

(2). Sureties. A bail bondsman agrees to post your bail in exchange for a fee and securities from you and third parties to ensure payment of the bail in the event you skip town and don’t show up for court.

(3). Cash Bond. The court can order a straight cash deposit with the court to ensure the Utah criminal defendant shows up in court. Cash is still King.

How to Utah Judges set bail for Utah criminal defendants?

(1). What are the criminal charges?

(2). How many charges are there?

(3). Has the judge heard any evidence on the case, like a preliminary exam or suppression hearing?

(4). What is the defendant’s criminal history?

(5). What are the defendant’s ties to the community which will ensure their court attendance?

(6). What is the minimum sentence the court may impose based on the charges filed?

(7). Does the defendant have a history of missing court?

Defense Motion to Reduce Bail.

Our attorneys can file detailed motions to reduce the court’s initial bail or be prepared to argue bail at your initial court appearance. Getting you out of jail is important to aiding in your defense. Defending a case behind bars is more much expensive and difficult for you. You need every advantage when defending against Utah criminal charges.

Defense Motion to Lift the Warrant.

In less severe Utah criminal charges when a warrant has been issued because of your non appearance, often your Utah criminal defense attorney moves the court to lift the warrant without a court hearing.

Many times, these motions are unopposed by the prosecuting attorney and granted unilaterally by Utah justice courts.   Our Ogden/Salt Lake/Provo criminal defense attorneys can help you file these motions to lift the warrant and keep you out of jail.


If you are wanted under an active Utah criminal arrest warrant you should take immediate action.  Call/TXT (801) 373-6345 for Jake Gunter.